Southwestern Electric Cooperative

Southwestern Electric serves 2,356 consumers living in Harding, Quay, Union, NM and Las Animas, CO. Counties served in Texas; Dallam and Hartley.

The company owns 1,949 miles of distribution line. It has invested $47.9 million to serve its members.

The board meets on the 1st Tuesday following the 3rd Thursday of each month; the annual meeting is August 22, 2017. The cooperative was incorporated in 1947 and energized November 1, 1949.

Board of Trustees

Robert Emery, President
Joel Gilbert, Vice President
Bob Weese, Secretary-Treasurer
Ron Green, Trustee
Harry Hopson, Trustee
Roy Perschbacher, Trustee
Joe Reeser, Trustee
Renee Rinestine, Trustee
Sterlin Shields, Trustee

Key Staff

Gary Rinker, General Manager/Director, NMRECA/Director, Tri-State
Janie Garcia, Receptionist/Cashier/Member Services
Monica Maynes, Billing Supervisor
Mike Phipps, Material Manager/Purchasing Agent
Joe Riley, Line Superintendent
Travis Sullivan, Technical Services
Robin Tolan, Office Manager


216 Main Street
PO Box 369
Clayton, NM 88415
Main: 575-374-2451
Toll-free: 866-374-2451
Fax: 575-374-2030
Share by: